First experiences

431074_179838915465113_1997123693_n

 

Yesterday I saw my oncologist for the first time since my transition began,I had seen her Nurse practitioner,On my last few visits partly because she has me alternate visits with herself and nurse Becky  in case of emergency there is always someone available who is familiar with my case.In particular the last few visits she was not available so I saw Becky and there was a time span when the state took my mediciad benefits away.and then I waited until my medicare came into effect before returning.

I have always been extremely happy with my doctor there she is a very caring person who always treats as you her only patient, plus she has her office covered with butterflies imagine me liking that! also the people in the office and Dr. are huggers so I always get hugs and feel special there.(My son hates going with me for that reason he is not a hugger and finds it not to his liking).

On yesterdays visit her nurses and staff got me ready to see her updated my medications and paper work as needed and informed I was no longer a male patient but a female one,so along with my usual examination we drifted into a conversation about my new journey in life,she ask some great questions and commented in the end that she was proud of my courage and thanked me for sharing my story with her,and said I was her only  transgender patient.

Now on to the first experience during my exam she also did a breast examination,she ordered some blood tests,and a mammogram,which I will get on the 24th of the month. I knew that at some point in time this was likely to come up as a part of my treatment,either by her or my General practitioner.Well this is certainly a true first in my life and likely a memory that will become indelible in my mind.

I’m a little scared by it all but at the same time I know all involved are professionals,I guess we are always a bit scared of the unknown but after Oct,24th It will no longer be an unknown to me.

I will update all on the experience then.

 

Butterfly

3 thoughts on “First experiences

  1. Shelle, I’m old and forgetful I know 🙂 but are you doing any or all of your treatment through the VA? I’ve always been treated with respect in the Dayton unit.

    • No sweetie I’m just using my medicare,for my treatment now I could use the VA but it’s difficult for me to go to Danville, Ill or Indianapolis. as I don’t own a vehicle, I have just had to train the local people to treat me. so far it’s worked out very well,and I’m always treated with dignity by all with all the tests and bloodwork lately they know me by name at the hospital lab.

      • That’s certainly wonderful that you can make that happen!
        I knew you were out in Indiana, I just didn’t know how far the Dayton VA served. Doesn’t matter with no car! Duh!!!
        Sounds like you have a future in trans training 🙂

Leave a Reply

